Finding Those Ancestors

After 12 years, I found my G Grandmother’s family, the McConnell’s. 

It started by finding another Tree on Ancestry with all kinds of records and sources, when I saw the people on the other tree I started to research these folks. I first went to familysearch.org, as I do not have a world subscription to ancestry, these folks were in Ontario Canada so searching Canada through ancestry was out of the question.  Low and behold there was this Robert McConnell and his wife Rachel….hmmm…Rachel was my grandmothers name….could this be them? Checking the census for Ontario 1881 there was among their children a daughter Mary age 19.  Was this my G Grandmother?  Back to ancestry I went and contacted the other researcher, she answered me right away and gave me some information. Then we started e-mailing each other, she had photo’s too.  We exchanged information and to my delight  Robert and Rachel were indeed my GG Grandparents. Born in Tyrone Ireland they immigrated to Canada in the 1840’s along with some brothers and sisters. Robert’s brother John was her ancestral line, John and his family left Ontario and ventured first to Manitoba, then on to Saskachewan, where their descendants live today.

Both Robert and Rachel, maiden name Hampton,  were born in 1813, Rachel died 12 Mar 1912 4 months shy of her 99th birthday, Robert died 24 Feb 1916 age 103. They are listed on find-a-grave including their obituaries  and burial place. I now have those obituaries in my records. According to the obit, a little exaggerated, they had 13 children, however we have only found 8 of them.  An 1851 Ontario census lists Robert and Rachel, his sister Ann and her husband Hugh Archer, but no children? They were married in 1835 in Ireland… where were their children?  An 1861 census lists 6 children, 2 of their children John and George b in Ireland, the other 4 born in Ontario.  An 1871 census 2 more children are now listed all unmarried the youngest age 6.  I have been able to trace all 8 so far, marriages, births, deaths. 

Although I have 3 free Ontario sites bookmarked I can’t seem to pull up the actual census images.. but not to fear I have a dear friend in Ontario who helps me with research when I get stuck, he is getting me the images.  This certainly is what makes Genealogy so worthwhile.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Noreen Craig
    Feb 03, 2015 @ 13:03:07

    Good job, as usual!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

News

Events

